Fried Wahoo

I am on a gluten free diet and I miss my fish and chips.

 I made up a new way to enjoy one of my favorite meals.  I found some  wasabi flavored rice crackers which are gluten free. I am sure any flavor would do.   I broke them into crumbs with the rolling pin so they were fine as bread crumbs.  I sliced the wahoo into finger size pieces.   

In a bowl I beat one egg with 1/2 cup milk.  this wahoo was frozen, so I let it sit in the milk/egg mixture for 10 minutes.  This helps get rid of any fishy flavor.  Then I dredged them through my rice cracker crumbs, dropped in the hot oil until light brown.

On the side I made some tarter sauce, which is really simple and much better than what you buy in the store.  Quantity will depend on how much fish you are frying and the crowd you are feeding.  I started with some mayonnaise, add a dab of sour cream, squirt of mustard, garlic powder, Worchester sauce, and of course you must add the pickle relish.I used sweet relish this time.  If you use the hamburger relish, you won’t need mustard.   Mix to your taste.

Fry your potatoes after you fry your fish.  This will clean your oil and help clean the air of any fishy smell in your kitchen.

We always make extra, they make great fish tacos for lunch the next day.

Enjoy.

Next week is Thanksgiving, I think I will make a Guam Thanksgiving Special recipe.  Until next time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

