Lemon Yellowtail on the grill

I’m sorry I didn’t do a recipe last week, the one we used is one I have already posted. We had a good friend, Paul Watts die last week. As taught by my father you bring a dish to the Memorial. We figured the easiest, and popular dish to bring was our recipe for fish fingers and tarter sauce. They were a huge hit, and dissappeared in no time. That was an entire 15lb yellowtail we cooked up.

This week, I am back to being creative. I usually go through a cookbook looking at recipes until I am inspired and list of ingredients in my head.
This is what I came up with this week.
It was delicious with white rice and a green salad. A friend has been growing different types of Romaine and bringing us some. What a delight to have fresh picked Romaine, tomatoe, olives and some green goddess dressing!

Lemon Yellowtail
1 lb yellowtail cleaned and portioned
the juice of 3 lemons
½ cup Avacado oil
½ cup white wine
2 cloves minced garlic
3 tbs chopped cilantro or parsley
pinch of oregano
salt and pepper to taste.

Mix ingredients and pour into a gallon ziplock bag.
Add cleaned fish fillets and let marinate for a couple hours.

For the rice, I always use Chicken broth. Here in Cabo, the boxes are 1 liter. So I use 2 cups for the rice, then the small amount left I put in a small sauce pan. When the fish is on the grill, I add the leftover marinate to my chicken stock, and added a little more white wine, and reduced this stirring constantly so it doesn’t boil over. I did add a little salt to enhance the flavor.
If you don’t have the left over broth, it’s ok, still reduce, maybe a little more wine to taste.

I put the rice on the plate, fish on top, then drizzled the reduction
over the top.

Hope you all enjoy this recipe, we sure did!!!

And I’m not sure what happened, I did something wrong! No pictures on my camera. I thought it was acting weird! Works fine this morning.

2 responses to “Lemon Yellowtail on the grill

  1. Pingback: Lemon Yellowtail on the grill | Captgeo’s Cabo San Lucas Blog | Mexico Discovery

  2. Pingback: Lemon Yellowtail on the grill | Captgeo’s Cabo San Lucas Blog | Mexico Discovery

Leave a Reply

