Pepperoncini, goat cheese stuffed yellowtail

YELLOWTAIL Stuffed with Pepperoncini and Goat Cheese
Makes 4 servings.  I had large pieces of fish, we each had a half with one meal.  But I think it helped keep the stuffing inside the fillets!

When I first saw this recipe in the Seattle Times, it was made for chicken breasts. I thought the idea would go great with some nice thick pieces of fish. I just happen to have in the freezer, some nice fat fillets of yellowail. And once again I have defied those professional chefs and combined fish with cheese!
My first choice for this recipe though would be a nice wahoo fillet. But alas, I have none.

You’ll find a number of uses for this recipe’s creamy stuffing. Try it on bruschetta or bagels, in sandwiches or tossed with pasta.
2 thick yellowtail fillets, slice down the side, but not through.
4 ounces fresh goat cheese
1/4 cup finely chopped pepperoncini
1 1/2 teaspoons finely chopped fresh thyme leaves
Coarse salt and ground pepper
I used my bullet with the jar attachment to finely chop the Thyme and pepperoncinis, then added the goat cheese to get nice and creamy. Only takes a couple seconds!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a small bowl, mash goat cheese with a fork until smooth. Stir in pepperoncini and thyme and season with salt and pepper. Tightly pack each pocket with cheese mixture. Original recipe calls for 4 @ chicken breasts, so after stuffing the fish I had some left over. I used this later, a little slather across the top of the fish when finished cooking.
Heat a large cast-iron or other heavy ovenproof skillet over medium-high. I added a tbs Butter and 1 tbs avacado oil. Saute the fish for about 5 minutes. Transfer skillet to oven and bake until for about 15 minutes, depending on how thick your fish is. Remember your fish will continue to cook after you remove it from the heat. You want to let the fish rest out off heat for about 5 minutes.
I served over a bed of rice, with a nice salad on the side. No pictures this time. I let a friend borrow my camera, and my blackberry takes horrible pictures.

One response to “Pepperoncini, goat cheese stuffed yellowtail

  1. Pingback: Pepperoncini, goat cheese stuffed yellowtail | Captgeo’s Cabo San … | Mexico Discovery

Leave a Reply

